Port Harcourt Agog for IGP Taekwondo

first_imgAll is now set for the 8th edition of Inspector General of Police annual Taekwondo Championship scheduled for between July 25 and 27 at the Civic Centre, Port Harcourt under the auspices of the Nigeria Police Taekwondo Association, a member of the African Police Taekwondo Confederation and the world Police Taekwondo Federation.Chairperson of the Nigeria Police Taekwondo Association, Stella Ebikefe, a Superintendent of Police, who disclosed this in Lagos, said arrangement towards having a hitch free 8th edition of the IGP Taekwondo championship is almost concluded with the Civic Centre venue of the event already wearing a new look ahead of the commencement date.She said over 250 athletes drawn from across Nigeria and the neighbouring countries would compete for honours at the three-day exercise that would determine who carts home the IGP giant trophy. SP Ebikefe while commending the Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Abubakar Adamu, for approving the event said she envisaged a tougher competition this year as all the zones of the Nigeria Police formation in the country are threatening to dethrone the two defending champions, Zone 11 and the Nigerian Army that won the championship in 2018.The likes of Inspector Ernest Orobor and Sergeant Femi Olawunmi, the two athletes that won bronze medals for the Nigeria Police team at the Ist African Police Taekwondo Championship held between April 25 and 28, 2019, in Abidjan Cote d’Ivoire are also competing.With the U-17 Kyorugi, Poomse and senior Kyorugi as events to be competed for, the U-17 Kyorugi would attract a token N2,500 registration fee while those for team Poomse and senior Kyorugi are to register with N4,000 and N3,000 respectively.Organisers of the event have promised free accommodation for the first 100 athletes that registered with proof of payment into the its Access Bank, the official bank for the IGP championship with account no, 0700383210.International athletes are to register with $50 (N18,000) only but on or before July 25, 2019 closing date for entries SP Ebikefe warned.Share this:FacebookRedditTwitterPrintPinterestEmailWhatsAppSkypeLinkedInTumblrPocketTelegramlast_img read more

Beach volleyball wins NCAA Championship

first_imgThe USC beach volleyball team won the NCAA National Championship on May 7, beating Pepperdine 3-2 to clinch the program’s third consecutive national title.The No. 1 ranked Trojans had been dominant all year, finishing with a 38-1 record, so it was no surprise they found themselves in Gulf Shores, Ala. last weekend, looking to defend their back-to-back national championships. USC carried its regular-season momentum into the National Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship, running rampant through the competition. Facing the top programs in the nation, the Trojans were flawless, and they swept South Carolina, Hawaii and Pepperdine to earn a spot in the final.But for the first time since their sole loss of the season against UCLA in the Pac-12 Championship, the Trojans faced major adversity in their rematch against Pepperdine. The first dual of the final matchup went in favor of Pepperdine’s Deahna Kraft and Anika Wilson, who downed the young pair of sophomore Abril Bustamante and freshman Joy Dennis. The Trojans responded quickly, as juniors Jenna Belton and and Jo Kremer dispensed of their competition 21-18, 21-15.With the two teams tied at 1-1, Pepperdine’s Brittany Howard and Corinne Quiggle regained the Waves’ advantage with a tough three-set victory over seniors Sophie Bukovec and Allie Wheeler. The seesawing affair continued with the Trojans’ decorated senior pair of Kelly Claes and Sara Hughes winning another tightly contested three-set dual, evening the match at two wins apiece.Both teams were set for a deciding final matchup with the National Championship on the line. It was up to junior Terese Cannon and senior Nicolette Martin to notch a win over Pepperdine’s Skylar Caputo and Heidi Dyer and bring home another national title. After capturing the first set 21-19, the Trojan pair dropped the second 18-21, setting up a dramatic final frame in an already razor-thin final.But the Trojans were able to seize the moment, as Cannon and Martin won the title-clinching set 15-13, giving USC 104 all-time NCAA team championships. For seniors Kelly Claes, Sophie Bukovec, Allie Wheeler, Sara Hughes and Nicolette Martin — who made up head coach Anna Collier’s first recruiting class — the win over Pepperdine marked their third national championship in four years at USC.“They came in and pretty much set the tone from the beginning,” Collier said. “From the moment they were sophomores, they took control of the situation and started building a team culture. They improved so much in volleyball, but more than that, they became a unit.”Collier refers to the group as the “Fab Five,” and on Sunday, the senior class solidified its legacy in USC history, giving the Trojans their 20th NCAA championship in women’s sports.“It came down to those last two points,” Claes said. “It was just an unreal feeling — I’m on cloud nine right now. I’m just so proud of all these girls and the fight that all of us had.”To wrap up a season full of silverware, the Trojans had three pairs selected to the all-tournament team, including Claes and Hughes, who were named the top overall pair. Cannon and Martin were honored as the No. 3 pair, with Bustamante and Dennis following just behind in No. 4.last_img read more