Raji, Smith Raise Issue on Election Guideline ‘Violation’

first_imgThe favorite LFA presidential candidate, Mustapha Raji, and outgoing LFA President Musa Bility.Two stakeholders have raised serious issues on what they described as ‘election guideline violations’ by the LFA Elections Committee in the just concluded qualification of presidential and executive committee members for the March 22 elections in Buchannan, Grand Bassa County.The two men said the LFA must tackle the ‘violation’ to avoid any interference by Confederation of African Football (CAF) and the Federation of International Football Associations (FIFA).Mustpaha Raji told the Daily Observer that the Elections Committee violated the Electoral Code and the New Approved Statutes by stating that, “No single club shall nominate more than one aspirant for each of the two vice presidential posts and no club shall nominate more than 10 aspirants for the executive committee.”Raji said the LFA’s Approved Statutes, Article 58.2 says: No one (1) member shall propose two (2) or more candidates,” which he said should have been sufficient for the process.The LISCR FC boss argued that, Article 9 of the LFA Electoral Code acknowledges the primacy of the statutes when it states: “The eligibility criteria are defined by the code and the LFA statutes and must comply with the statutes and regulations of FIFA.”He added: “The Executive Committee, which is the highest decision body in the absence of Congress, must address this violation.”He further quoted FIFA electoral code article 26 which says: “Failure by the association (member) to apply the principles of this code shall be considered a serious violation of the provisions of article 13 of the FIFA Statutes…”Georgian FC President (candidate for the EC), Wilmot Smith called on the LFA to set the records straight by correcting the ‘violation.”Mr. Smith said the alarm on the ‘violation’ clearly demonstrates “leadership and honesty and I don’t see a divorce from fraternity by raising the flag and calling for an emergency meeting to tackle the breach.”The LFA says as per the Statutes and Electoral Code, which were duly approved recently by an Extraordinary Congress in Monrovia, it is obliged to protect the independence of the Committee irrespective of subjective views.Elections Committee Chairman Malcolm Joseph told the Daily Observer yesterday that there are provisions on the process and anyone who is not satisfied must take advantage over them.The final lists of candidates are: M. Hassan A. Bility, President; Musa Shannon and Sekou Konneh; Vice President for Administration, Cassell A. Kuoh, Sr., Vice President for Operations.Executive Committee Women Seat: Ciata Bishop and Executive Committee Members include: Ansu V. S. Dulleh, J. Allan Klayee, Dee-Maxwell Kemeyah, Sr., Samuel Y. Karn,  Rochell G. D. Woodson,  D. Sheba Brown,  Wallace Weiah and S. Matthew P. Smith. Others are Cyrus Wright, Wilmot Smith, Mustapha Raji, Adolphus Harmon, Korpo Kpoto, Yanqueh S. Borsay, Urias Glaybo, Lemuel Sherman and Samuel Ashley.Share this:Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)last_img read more